About Walton County

Woman and two children in a hammock

Walton County Facts

As of 2023, the population is 103,065. Walton County provides: 

  • Animal Control
  • Code Enforcement
  • Community centers
  • County Water
  • Emergency Ambulance Service
  • Fire Protection
  • Parks
  • Planning
  • Recreation Programs
  • Recycling Centers
  • Zoning

Regular monthly Commission Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month.

Creation & Location

Walton County, forty-five miles east of Atlanta in Georgia's Piedmont region, is the state's forty-sixth county. Comprising 329 square miles, it was created by the Lottery Act of 1818 from land originally held by both the Cherokee and Creek Indians and was named for George Walton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and briefly a Georgia governor.


The county seat is Monroe, where the current county courthouse was opened in 2005. The historic county courthouse (the third) was built in 1883; since that time, the structure has undergone major restorations and additions.


City of Monroe
City of Loganville
City of Social Circle
Town of Jersey
Town of Goodhope
Town of Between
City of Walnut Grove

Famous Residents

Walton County has been home to seven Georgia governors: 

Also from Walton County was Moina B. Michael, known as the "Poppy Lady." She developed the symbol of the red Flanders Field Poppy as a memorial emblem for the veterans of wars.