*** PUBLIC NOTICE: The Walton County Probate Court will be closed on Friday, April 15, 2022, in observance of Good Friday. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: Transitional and Amended Guidelines for In-Court Proceedings Order was issued on August 3, 2021. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: Fifteenth Order Extending Declaration of Judicial Emergency was issued on June 7, 2021. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: Effective August 1, 2020, due to an increase in GBI/Federal Records check, the cost for a new Firearms License will increase to $79.00.***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: The Court requires applicants to apply for a Firearms License online at www.georgiaprobaterecords.com to receive a confirmation number. After you receive a confirmation number, you will need to schedule your appointment by clicking here. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: The Court requires applicants to apply for a Marriage License online at www.georgiaprobaterecords.com to receive a confirmation number. After you receive a confirmation number, you will need to schedule your appointment by clicking here. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: During this time, the Probate Court asks that any and all court filings be sent via mail. Thank you. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: At this time, only the person conducting business is allowed entry. Thank you. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: The Probate Court encourages each person to wear a mask, gloves and other Personal Protective Equipment if they have it. The Court will not be able to issue these items. Thank you. ***
The mission of the Walton County Probate Court is to serve the citizens of this county by performing the unique constitutional duties, given to the Probate Court, that is compassionate, impartial, professional and fiscally responsible.
Georgia Probate Courts exercise exclusive, original jurisdiction in the probate of wills, administration of estates, appointment of guardians (minor and adult) and involuntary hospitalization of incapacitated adults and other individuals.
All probate court judges administer oaths of office, issue marriage and firearms licenses; some process United States Passports applications.
They may hold habeas corpus hearings or preside over criminal preliminary hearings. Unless a jury trial is requested, probate court judges may also hear certain misdemeanors, traffic cases and violations of state game and fish laws in counties where there is no state court.
When authorized by local statute, probate judges serve as election supervisors and make appointments to certain local public offices.
Learn more about probate courts on the Council of Probate Court Judges of Georgia website.
PAYING FINES BEFORE COURT:
If you wish to resolve your charges without coming to court, for most offenses you can pay the fine at the Probate Court or online and you will not have to appear for court on the date on your citation. You may pay the fine in person at the court with cash, a money order, Visa, or MasterCard. Please note there will be a convenience fee applied to all card transactions.
You can also pay your fine online by visiting https://www.ezcourtpay.com/Tix/Default.aspx.
To pay by phone, please call 800-262-0128.
While most traffic citations can be paid without having to come to court, there are some violations which require you to appear on the court date listed on your citations. Those offenses are as follows:
Driving on a Suspended License
Driving without a License
Fleeing/Attempting to Elude
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Possession of Marijuana
Speeding more than 24 mph (driver under 21)
Application Acceptance Times
- No marriage applications will be accepted after 4:00 p.m. Must complete online application and set an appointment.
- No new weapons carry permit applications will be processed from 12:00 p.m. until 1 p.m. or after 4 p.m. Renewals can be processed from 8:30am until 4:30pm. Must complete online application and set an appointment.
Visa and Master Card are accepted for most services, although a convenience fee will apply.
For your convenience, please bring EXACT CASH. Cash is not acceptable for all services.