- Certified Process Server Program
Certified Process Server Program
Procedures for Certifying Process Servers
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 9-11-4.1(a)(2) A sheriff of any county of this state shall review the application, test scores, criminal record check, and such other information or documentation as required by that sheriff and determine whether the applicant shall be approved for certification and authorized to act as a process server in this state.
The Certified Process Server certification process requires that each applicant must provide to the certifying sheriff a completed, sworn Georgia Certified Process Server (GCPS) application packet. The packet must include:
- $80 application fee (money order or cashier’s check)
- Certificate of completion of the 12-hour pre-certification training
- Certificate of successful completion of certification exam
- Certified copy of applicant’s birth certificate
- Completed Georgia Certified Process Server Application
- Copy of commercial surety bond or policy of commercial insurance
- Proof of completion of a fingerprint based criminal background check
- Sheriffs shall not accept incomplete application packets
Applicants should bring all of the completed materials listed above to the Sheriff’s Office lobby. Applications will only be accepted during the hours of 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. It is recommended that you call to schedule an appointment with Scott Whisnant at 770-267-1434 prior to bringing the documents. A copy of the required documents is under the same tab on the Sheriff’s Office website.
Note: The Walton County Sheriff’s Office will process all applications for certification; however, at this time Sheriff Chapman will not approve any request to serve process in Walton County.