Sheriff Chapman is pleased to offer firearms training classes to the public. These classes focus on general safety, Georgia law and proper shooting techniques.
The classes consist of lecture, discussion and shooting instruction at our range facility.
Note that under current law, this class is not a requirement to apply for a Georgia Weapons Carry License.
Attendees must be 18 years of age or older. You must provide your own handgun and ammunition, (50 rounds recommended). You may share a firearm with another attendee. The Sheriff’s Office will provide safety equipment and targets.
There is a $30 charge per student.
We will schedule special sessions for groups of ten or more students.
We do not provide certificates of attendance for those ordered by the court to attend safety training.
All classes begin at 9 a.m. and last until about 3 p.m.
Registration is not required, please arrive by 9 a.m. on the day of scheduled class. Meet in the lobby of the Sheriff’s Office. The lecture portion will be in our classroom, then we will break for lunch and then reconvene at our range facility for the shooting portion. Shooters should plan to bring 50 rounds of ammunition with them for the class.