Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
An adult relative of a disabled voter residing inside the county may apply for an absentee ballot, but shall not vote for the disabled voter. The disabled box on the application must be checked, and the relative making application must sign the application appropriately.
Only a physically disabled or illiterate voter can receive assistance in preparing his or her ballot from one of the following: any elector who is qualified to vote in the same county or municipality as the disabled or illiterate voter; an attendant care provider or a person providing attendant care; or the mother, father, grandparent, aunt, uncle, brother, sister, spouse, son, daughter, niece, nephew, grandchild, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law of the disabled or illiterate voter. The person giving assistance to the disabled or illiterate voter in preparing the ballot must sign the oath printed on the same envelope as the oath to be signed by the voter. In addition, no person may assist more than ten voters in any election in which there is no federal candidate on the ballot. If a federal candidate appears on a ballot, a person can assist an unlimited number of voters in that election.
A completed application must first be received before an absentee ballot is issued. Please call the Elections Office at 770-267-1337 to request that an application be mailed or faxed to you, or click here to download an application. Don’t forget to select a party if you are requesting an absentee ballot for a Primary Election.Please complete and sign the application and return it in one of the following ways:
No, by law only the voter themselves may return their voted ballot, unless the voter is disabled. For a voter who is disabled, an adult relative or an adult individual residing in the household of the disabled voter may return the ballot to the Elections Office located at 1110 E Spring St, Suite 100 in Monroe.
Applications: The last day for the Elections Office to accept completed absentee applications is 5:00pm 11 days prior to Election Day.
Ballots: All voted ballots must be received by 7:00pm on Election Day. Any ballot received after 7:00pm on Election Day will not be counted. Ballots will not be accepted at polling locations for counting.
The last day to vote during Advance Voting is the Friday before Election Day. There is no absentee or advance voting on the Monday before the election or on Election Day.
Yes, by law, if the ballot has not been received by the voter in a reasonable amount of time, the voter must complete a form stating that the original ballot was not received. Once the Elections Office has received the form, a second ballot will be mailed if requested.
You must provide a driver's license or Georgia State ID number and date of birth. If you do not have one of those, you may provide a copy of passport, Georgia Voter ID (provided by your county Voter Registration & Elections office), Government issued ID, state or university school ID, bank statement, or utility bill showing your registered address.
If you do not provide the proper identification or sign the ballot, it will be rejected and a letter mailed to you with further instructions.
You must file a separate application for each election for which you are requesting an absentee ballot. You may file your application no more than 78 days prior to the Date of the Election. If a physically disabled voter or a voter 65 years of age or older makes a written request to receive an absentee ballot for the Presidential Preference Primary, General Primary, Primary Runoff, General Election, or General Runoff, he or she will receive ballots without having to ask again by checking the appropriate box on the application. This will be in effect for the remainder of the regular election cycle and will not apply to Special Elections. Please call 770-267-1337 for more information.
Absolutely! Every valid absentee ballot is counted. Be sure to sign the envelope when you return your absentee ballot. The Elections Office must receive your ballot no later than 7:00 PM on Election Day. If you are not sure if your ballot will arrive in time, drop it off in person. All Absentee ballots are counted on Election Night along with all of the votes cast in person during Early Voting and at the polls. Unofficial Results are released before the staff can leave on Election Night. Military and Overseas Citizens' ballots that are received Wednesday through Friday, and were postmarked by Election Day, are added on Friday. The results become Official after they are certified.
Visit http://ethics.ga.gov/ to learn more about Campaign Finance.
Losing an election does not end your filing responsibilities with the State Ethics Commission.
If your situation meets all of the following criteria, you may file a final report to terminate future filing requirements:
The final report will cover the period beginning where your last report ended and ending on the day the final report is filed.
If you do not file a final report after the election, you will be required to file reports until you file a final report.
No. By filing a DOI you have only achieved candidate status for the purposes of reporting campaign contributions and expenditures on the CCDR (Campaign Contribution Disclosure Reports). In an election year, your PFDS is required to be filed within 15 days of qualifying.
Maximum contribution limits can be found here: http://ethics.ga.gov/contribution-limits
Campaign contributions may only be used to defray ordinary and necessary expenses. Ordinary and necessary is defined at O.C.G.A. § 21-5-3(18)
An In-Kind contribution is any item of value other than money received by a candidate or any committee. In-kind contributions are treated the same as if the candidate had received cash from the contributor and are subject to the maximum contribution limits. Additionally, in-kind contributions must be aggregated with other contributions, in-kind or cash, by the same contributor. See Rule 189-06-.07
Late filing fees for CCDRs can be paid out of campaign funds. However, late filing fees for PFDS cannot be paid with campaign funds. If using campaign funds to pay for a CCDR late fee, then that late fee payment must be recorded as an expenditure on the applicable CCDR.
An unsuccessful candidate can file a Final Report & Termination Statement within 10 days after the general, as long as they are not in office, has no campaign debt, and a zero net balance.
No. A TBD is only due if you exceed $2,500.
There is no grace period to file a PFDS.
The Affidavit of Exemption is a written, sworn statement completed by a candidate or public officer if they do not plan to accept more than $2,500 in contributions or expend more than $2,500 in expenditures during an election cycle. Filing the Affidavit exempts the candidate or public officer from Campaign Contribution Disclosure Report (CCDR) filing requirements.
An Affidavit of Exemption is filed with the candidate’s or public officer’s local filing officer. Generally, the local filing officer for municipal candidates and public officers is the city clerk of the municipality in which the candidate is seeking office or in which the public officer holds office and the local filing officer for county candidates and public officers is the elections superintendent for the county in which the candidate is seeking office or in which the public officer holds office.
Candidates for county or municipal offices or public officers currently holding a county or municipal office who do not intend to accept more than$2,500 in contributions or expend more than $2,500 in expenditures during an election cycle may file the Affidavit of Exemption.
The Affidavit of Exemption may be filed at any time during an election cycle. However, best practice is for a candidate or public officer to file an Affidavit at the beginning of each election cycle, immediately after qualifying for office, or immediately after filing a Declaration of Intention to Accept Campaign Contributions (DOI). If a candidate files an Affidavit after CCDRs become due, the candidate is responsible for filing all CCDRs due prior to filing the Affidavit.
The Affidavit of Exemption is good for one election cycle. After an election cycle concludes, a public officer will need to file a new Affidavit to be exempt from CCDR filing requirements in the new election cycle.
If a candidate or public officer exceeds the $2,500 limit but does not exceed $5,000 in contributions and expenditures, then they must file a June 30th CCDR and December 31st CCDR in the election year. If the candidate or public officer exceeds $5,000 in contributions and expenditures, then they must file all CCDRs due in an election year as prescribed by O.C.G.A. § 21-5-34(c) (2)
If a candidate or public officer does not file an Affidavit of Exemption, then they must file all CCDRs in accordance with the filing schedule found at O.C.G.A. § 21-5-34(c).
A statement filed by certain public officers and all candidates in which they disclose fiduciary positions, business interests, real estate interests, and investment interests that they or their spouse held in the previous calendar year.
An individual who is appointed to a vacant elected public office files his or her first PFDS the year after they take office. Ex: John Doe is appointed to a vacant superior court office and is sworn into office on August 1, 2017. John Doe files his first PFDS in 2018.
In an election year, an incumbent seeking re-election must file a PFDS within 15 days of qualifying. However if the incumbent holds a statewide office, then he/she must file a PFDS within 7 days of qualifying in an election year.
Review your records. Identify what you should have filed and what you did file. If you feel the late fee is incorrect contact the Commission by calling 404-463-1980 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org
Only if it has been paid with campaign funds.
Each elector shall present proper identification to a poll worker. Proper identification shall consist of any one of the following:
No. The precinct card is just to inform you of your voting location and districts. You must show a photo ID to vote.
STOP! And notify a poll worker BEFORE pressing “Cast Ballot”. Once you have pressed “Cast Ballot”, your vote has been recorded and is FINAL.
A voter may receive assistance at the polls if they are unable to read the English language or if he or she has a physical disability that renders them unable to see or mark the ballot, operate the voting equipment, or enter the voting booth. In order to do so, everyone, except those that are blind, must take an oath showing the reason they need assistance. The person providing the assistance to the voter must sign on the oath. When there is a federal candidate on the ballot, the voter can select anyone they want to assist them in voting, except for the voter's employer, an agent of that employer, or an officer or agent of the voter's union. When there is no federal candidate on the ballot, the voter can select any other resident of the precinct or a parent, sibling, spouse or child to assist them inside the voting booth. No person may assist more than ten voters in a primary, election, or runoff.
**Note: Between the hours of 9:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on the day of an election, voters who are 75 years of age or older or who are physically disabled may, upon request to a poll officer, vote immediately without waiting in line.
The child of a voter 17 years of age and under is permitted to accompany his/her parent into the voting booth while voting; any child 12 and under may accompany a voter who is not his/her parent into the voting booth while voting. Children ARE NOT allowed to handle voter access cards or to operate voting machines.
No person may campaign; distribute literature of written or printed matter of any kind; wear campaign buttons, signs, pins, stickers, T-shirts, etc.; circulate petitions; or perform similar activities within 150 feet of the building in which a polling place is located.
Yes. You are not required to cast a vote in every race or on every question. If you choose to leave a race or a question blank, the rest of the votes on your ballot will still be counted.
No. Under Georgia law, you must be registered to vote in the county where you are attempting to vote. While you may be permitted to vote a provisional ballot in any polling place that you go to, your ballot will not count unless you are a resident in that county and found to have properly registered to vote. If you are properly registered to vote, but choose to vote at the wrong county polling place for your residence address, your ballot would only be partially counted. District and local races would probably not count.
A 'special election' means an election that arises from some emergency or special need outside the usual routine. This could include a vacancy in a public office or the holding of a county referendum.A 'primary' means any election held for the purpose of electing party officers or nominating candidates for public offices to be voted upon at a general election. In Georgia, political parties are defined as any political organization that at the preceding Gubernatorial election nominated a candidate for Governor and whose candidate for Governor at such election pulled at least 20 percent of the total votes cast in the state for Governor or in a Presidential election nominated a candidate for President of the United States and whose candidates for presidential electors at such election pulled at least 20 percent of the total votes cast in the nation for that office. At the present time, recognized political parties in Georgia include the Democratic and Republican parties.A 'general election' is held at intervals fixed by law. In Georgia, the general election is held the Tuesday after the first Monday of November in each even-numbered year. Most terms of office are for four years. Exceptions to this include six-year terms for United States Senators and two-year terms for Georgia General Assembly members and United States Representatives. The general election will include the candidates nominated at the political party primaries, political body candidates nominated by petition or state convention, independent candidates through the petition process, and write-in candidates.
The State of Georgia does not register voters by party and does not permit voting in more than one party’s primary, so voters wishing to participate in the primary election must choose either a Democratic or Republican ballot.
Voters may opt for a Nonpartisan ballot. The Nonpartisan ballot will only contain the nonpartisan races, which are mostly judicial and are mostly unopposed.
No. You are not restricted by party in any way during the November General Election.
No. When you choose a party during a primary, you may only participate in that party’s runoff. You may not switch parties for the runoff.
Yes. If you don’t vote in the primary, you have not yet selected a party preference and may vote in either party’s runoff.
Yes. If you vote Nonpartisan during the initial election, then you have not yet chosen a party. This means that you are eligible to participate in either party’s primary runoff.
Yes. In November all the candidates appear on the same ballot and you can vote for whoever you choose.
You can find your polling place and get other information here: www.mvp.sos.ga.gov
Election Day Polling Places are open from 7am-7pm
You can call our department with any questions you may have concerning your bill. We will do our best to assist you. That number is 770-266-1690. We utilize a third party billing service. You may contact them directly at 706-335-0123.
No. We provide all of our services and transportation to an emergency room without requiring payment up front.
No. We are a 911 service that transports to an emergency department in a hospital. We can provide phone numbers for non-emergency transport services.
We are a 911 service. Our medical control established a reasonable distance of service. We normally transport to an emergency department in a hospital that doesn't exceed a 15 mile limit outside of Walton County. This is to ensure prompt care for you and a quick return to service for our customers in Walton County.
Yes. As a professional healthcare provider, Walton County EMS falls within the guidelines of HIPAA, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. Any information gathered about a patient will be kept confidential as specified by HIPAA or Georgia law.
Depending on the type of emergency 911 may dispatch additional resources such as the fire department or the police along with an EMS ambulance. This is to ensure that you receive the best possible care.
Walton County employees and their dependents (ages 2 and up) enrolled in the medical plan may use the clinic.
Clinic services are available to employees and their dependents on Walton County's medical plan at no cost.
You may book your appointment via phone, email, or via the clinic's website.
It never decomposes!
Know that plastic items, when left in the environment, will turn into deadly toxic chemicals.
By law, personal contact information, such as phone numbers and email addresses are not provided to any candidate, elected official, or marketing professional; however voter history is public information. If you have received campaign mail or solicitations, it was received from some other source. If you wish to have your name removed from their lists, please contact each source respectively.
If you are a registered voter and do not have proper ID to vote, you can receive a free Georgia Voter Identification Card. In order to receive your free Georgia Voter Identification Card, you will need to present a document confirming your identity to your County Elections Office which includes the following:
Your full legal name and date of birth;
And/or your full legal name and residential address.
You can use the same document to confirm your identity AND residential address.
**THE GEORGIA VOTER IDENTIFICATION CARD IS USED FOR VOTING PURPOSES ONLY**
Board meetings are held on the first Monday of every month at 12p.m. in the Elections Office which is located at 1110 E Spring St, Suite 100 in Monroe. These meetings are open to the public.
Anyone considering a recount may request and receive a copy of the law pertaining to recounts. Due to the complexity of the process, anyone seeking a recount should consult private legal counsel.
First you need to look at the plat and check for setbacks. You also need to check on the flood map. Usually in A1 if nothing is there it will be 50 from front, 40 from back and 15 from sides.
You will need deed, plat, miscellaneous document showing how many acres to be logged and what road.
You will need 3 sets of drawings of the subdivision showing open space, green space, roads and each lot drawn out with the setbacks.
It is a paid volunteer position; poll officials are paid for service.
All poll officials must report to their assigned precinct by 5:30am on Election Day and remain on duty until the polls have closed and all paperwork is completed. The poll manager and one poll official must accompany ballots and memory cards back to the Walton County Elections office in Monroe after all the poll activities have been completed. All poll officials should anticipate a minimum 14 hour day, which may include a lot of standing or sitting in one position.
All poll officials are required by law to be trained prior to each election. Because this is a requirement by law, you cannot work the polls if you have not completed training. We schedule several training dates and times to accommodate as many poll officials as possible.
You will be mailed a letter with your scheduled date and time. If you can’t make it to your assigned training session, you may call and reschedule. If you can’t attend the training session, you can’t work on Election Day. Training is required.
The county allots a small amount of money for each worker. The managers use that money to purchase either snacks or lunch. Your manager will let you know if you need to bring any food.
Yes, you have to work all day. Poll officials must be sworn in at the beginning of each Election Day and payroll sheets must be signed prior to the poll opening.
No. Poll officials are required to vote prior to Election Day. You may vote by mail up to 45 days prior to the election or you may vote advance in person up to 21 days before the election. Once you've been sworn in at the polling place, you are not allowed to leave until all Election Day activities have been completed.
Scheduled breaks are determined by the Poll Manager and not all facilities allow smoking on the premises.
A provisional ballot is a paper ballot used by a voter whose eligibility to vote is in question and cannot be determined on Election Day. The Elections office has three business days to determine eligibility of a provisional voter.
In accordance with SB 202, provisional ballots of voters who are voting outside of their precinct will not be counted unless it is after 5:00 p.m. Voters are highly encouraged to vote at their assigned precinct. If the voter can not get to their precinct, they must fill out a sworn statement and provide an explanation. Provisional ballots of voters voting outside of their precinct will only be counted between the hours of 5:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Beginning the day following the election, the registrar investigates each and every provisional ballot in an attempt to help prove the voter’s eligibility. If the registrar can find proof that the voter is eligible to vote then the voter’s ballot is counted, if not the voter’s ballot is rejected.
The registrar will notify each provisional voter to tell the voter if their ballot was counted or not, and if not, why it was not counted.
If you vote a provisional ballot and your eligibility to vote is confirmed, your provisional ballot is counted.
Please note, if you appear to vote in the wrong county, and you choose to vote a provisional ballot rather than go to your correct county, your ballot will not count.
Call the Walton County Public Work Division at 770-267-1350 for road condition issues on a public street or submit a service request through our website. We will issue a service request and go out to fix the problem as soon as possible. If the issue is on a privately owned street or parking lot, contact the property owner or property management company to have it repaired.
Call Board of Commissioners Office at 770-266-1301 for a listing of the right of ways for each street within Walton county, however for your particular address a survey or recorded deed documents are the most accurate.
Yes, Walton County does ONLY handle removal of dead deer in the street or on the right of way. If the animal is not in the street or on the right of way, it is the citizen's responsibility.
Dead animals that are located on a State Highway in Walton County will be picked up by the Georgia Department of Transportation, please contact them at 770-266-0863..
To report a tree blocking part or all of a road during normal working hours (Monday - Friday 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM excluding holidays), please call our office at 770-267-1350. After hours please call the Walton County Sheriff's Department at 770-267-6557 or 911.
Contact Walton County Stormwater Division at 770-267-1350 for all drainage issues:
Yes. Driveways and the drainage pipes under them are the county responsibility to maintain and clean. For questions about driveway and driveway pipe maintenance, call the Stormwater Division at 770-267-1350.
Walton County Public Works Division is not responsible for driveway pipes is when the pipe is initially installed. For more information, Please contact Planning & Development at 770-267-1485.
The Elections office has assembled candidate packets that include information on qualifications, Campaign Finance guidelines and forms, and other filing forms required by state law. You may visit our office to receive your candidate packet.
County Qualifying is held at 1110 E Spring St, Suite 100 in Monroe.
Qualifying dates and times will be posted on our main page by February 1st of each year.
Yes. Candidates may file a letter of withdrawal with the Elections office.
You can find the qualifications to run for office here.
You cannot accept campaign contributions until you have filed a DOI (Declaration of Intention to accept Campaign Contributions) with the Elections Office, located at 1110 E Spring St, Suite 100 in Monroe.
You can order a list of registered voters from the Secretary of State at: sos.ga.gov
A Campaign Committee is not required.
Names for potential jurors do not strictly come from voter registration.The popular belief that the pool of potential juror names comes only from voter registration records is a myth. Voter registration encompasses just one of the many rosters used by the state to create lists provided to each of the 159 counties. In May, 2011, Governor Deal passed the Jury Reform Bill ultimately creating this statewide jury pool. The Department of Driver Services, the Secretary of the State and the Department of Public Health provide some of the lists used to add or remove potential juror names. Thus, fear of jury duty should not keep you from registering to vote.
Voter Registration Deadline is the fifth Monday prior to the election (if Monday is a legal holiday, deadline moves to the next day). The same deadline applies to changing your name and/or address prior to an election.
No, Georgia does not require you to register by party. You will choose what party ballot you want when you go to vote in a primary.
Yes, it can if you change your place of residence or if you have not voted in three or more years. If you have not voted in three or more years, it is important to confirm your registration. You can check your registration status online at My Voter Page (MVP) on the Secretary of State's website. If MVP is unable to find your information, you should contact the Walton County Elections office at 770-267-1337.
When to Change Your Address
How to Change Your Address
You can print a new precinct card here: www.mvp.sos.ga.gov
No. In Georgia you must register by 30 days before the election you want to vote in.
Under Senate Bill 119, GA code section 12-6-90 (July 1, 2021) was changed to eliminate the need to notify the Georgia Forestry Commission (GFC) by the person, firm, corporation, or association who intends to burn hand-piled natural vegetation/yard debris. Meaning there is no need for a burn permit to burn hand-piled Natural/Yard Debris such as leaf and limb material. Home products (paper, plastic, wood) are NOT allowed to be burned outdoors at ANY time. This does NOT affect the outdoor burn ban which are in effect between May 01 and September 30 of each year.
The Georgia Forestry Commission advises to follow the "Take Five" method to properly plan any burn: "S-S-T-A-R"
For additional information, visit https://gatrees.org/georgia-burn-notification-law-changing/ and https://gatrees.org/burn-permits-and-notifications/